From August 14 to 17, municipalities across Ontario will have the opportunity to meet with provincial ministers and parliamentary assistants at the Association of Municipalities of Ontario’s 2022 AMO Conference in Ottawa.

The Norfolk County Delegation to this year’s conference includes Mayor Kristal Chopp, Deputy Mayor Chris Van Paassen, and CAO Al Meneses.

The Delegation has been granted meetings with the Minister of Infrastructure, Honorable MPP Kinga Surma, and the Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry, Honorable MPP Graydon Smith.

Key topics of discussion include advocacy for regional responses to concerns including inter-urban water supply and leaking gas wells in Norfolk County.

Joint meetings with the South-Central Ontario Region Economic Development Corporation (SCOR) have also been scheduled with a number of ministries.

The Delegation will partner with members of the Western Ontario Wardens’ Caucus to meet with the Ministry of Health, Mental Health, and Addictions, as well as the Liberal, NDP, and Green Party Caucuses.

Norfolk County was also invited to join discussions with Minister Greg Rickford, Ontario’s Minister of Indigenous Affairs, Haldimand Tract delegations, and Chief Mark B. Hill elected Chief of Six Nations of the Grand River.

Additional information on the AMO Conference can be found at