Norfolk County is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Norfolk Community Development Awards.

Norfolk County hosted the Community Development Awards Ceremony on the evening of June 8, 2023, at the Vittoria Community Centre. Award recipients, joined by Members of Council, County staff, and guests, were in attendance to celebrate the accomplishments and achievements of the award winners.

The 2023 Community Development Award recipients

Best New Build or Renovation Award – Under $300K
Lisa Kaniuk – Chameleon Home
Lisa Kaniuk - Chameleon Home

Best New Build or Renovation Award – Over $300K
Riversyde 83
Riversyde 83

Outstanding Community Design – Award of Merit
Bevco’s Fernridge Estates

Bevco’s Fernridge Estates

Outstanding Community Design – Award of Excellence
Indwell’s Dogwood Suites

Indwell’s Dogwood Suites

Environmental Sustainability Award
Charlotteville Brewing Company

Charlotteville Brewing Company

Norfolk Spirit Award for Agriculture
Sawaya Gardens

Thriving New Business Award
Wishbone Brewing Company

Economic Excellence and Prosperity Award
Roulston’s Pharmacy

Youth Leadership Award
Sarah Dolina

Lifetime Leadership Award
Jean Montgomery

Community Development Champion Award
Sue Downs

Residents were encouraged to submit their nominations through an online portal via Norfolk Count’s website from February 23 to March 19. 2023. The nominations were then reviewed, and recipients were selected by a committee made up of members of the public and Norfolk County staff.

“The awards are an exciting opportunity to celebrate success within our community and recognize the many great initiatives and champions in Norfolk,” said Mayor Amy Martin.

The Community Development Awards will become a biennial event, with awards scheduled for 2025. Residents will once again be invited to nominate a Norfolk County champion making a difference in areas including environmental sustainability, agriculture, or economic excellence, and recognize a youth or lifetime leader who is helping to enhance and improve the community.

The full listing of award categories and criteria is on the Community Development Awards website at, and nomination forms for award submission and selection committee membership will be available starting in early 2025.